• Print Page Content
Our SchoolAcademic ProgrammesCulture & SportStudent LifeEnrolmentsInternational StudentsShortcut LoginsFacultiesImportant Dates and TimesFacilities for HireUniform ShopContact UsSupport Us 
              Curriculum Information: Year 9-13

NCEA (National Certificate of Educational Achievement) is the national qualification for senior secondary school students in New Zealand. Since the introduction of NCEA in 2002, the College has been very pleased with the performance of our girls at all three NCEA Levels; their results have consistently placed Baradene College as one of the top performing schools in the country. NCEA is the main qualification pathway that our girls follow. To view the Curriculum and NCEA Handbooks, please click on the links below.

+ Curriculum Booklet
NCEA Handbook 2017

Other key NCEA information and resources required by students are:
+ Financial Assistance Form
NZQA Handbook

If you have urgent queries, please contact:
Mrs Burnett - Director of Teaching and Learning
Tel: 524 6019 x 705


At each Level of the qualification (Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3), students are assessed on the learning attained in their selection of subjects.

Individual NCEA subjects are subdivided into Achievement Standards, some of which are assessed internally (and moderated externally) during the course of the academic year and some externally through the NZQA (New Zealand Qualifications Authority) national examinations at the end of the year. Each successful assessment earns credits that contribute to a certificate at Level 1, Level 2 or Level 3. Most subjects offer between 18-20 credits.

There are four different levels of assessed results for Achievement Standards:
Not Achieved (N or NA) - The student has not met the required standard.
Achieved (A) - The student has met the required standard.
Merit (M) - The student has achieved the standard with Merit.
Excellence (E) - The student has achieved the standard with Excellence.

Students who have been successful receive NCEA certificates at the end of each year of study (Level 1, Level 2 and Level 3). These certificates show that a student has achieved the required number of credits at a particular level.  To encourage students to do their best, those who gain sufficient credits at Merit (50 credits at Merit or above) or Excellence (50 credits at Excellence level) will have this recognised on their certificates.

From 2011 onwards, a similar endorsement for courses will provide more detail of a student’s overall performance and provide recognition for students who perform exceptionally well in a course. To attain a course endorsement, a student will need to achieve:

• 14 or more credits at Merit and Excellence
• At least 3 credits from externally accessed standards and 3 credit from internally accessed standards
• Sufficient credits in a single school year

Please click on the NZQA icon to visit the NZQA website

Assessment Handbook
Assessment Policy Reviewed May 2009
NCEA Forms
Missed Assessment Application Form
Appeal Form
Reviews and Reconsiderations
Scholarship Entry Contract 2014
Snake PDF
Student Record of Learning
Authenticity Statement 2014
NZQA Website Link
Remarking of papers
Reviews and Reconsiderations
NCEA The Facts
Further Assessment Opportunities
Internal and External Assessment
NCEA Overseas Acceptance
Learner Login Tips
Monitor your progress
NCEA Counting Credits Assembly